April 25, 2008

  • finally, a new desktop computer

     My Dell desktop died about 2 years ago, and ever since, I’ve been using an Acer laptop, which was pretty good, but I wanted to return to the Mac world.   So, I got one of these:

    It’s really fast and quiet, even when I have multiple apps running.  I’m about to install Windows Vista on it (I realize XP is better, but I’ve heard good things about Vista on macs), and then run my HD video editing software on it, to edit all my vacation videos that have been sitting around and collecting dust. 

    My laptop, with 1.5 GB of RAM could handle some of the video editing, but not when I threw a 10GB file at it.  Let’s see how this Mac Pro handles it.

    Oh, and I got a nice Samsung 22″ monitor. 

Comments (9)

  • Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice!

  • oh I hope you didn’t install the fake Mac OS (vista) yet, it’s not stable and it looks like the Mac os but don’t run like it and I’m a Mac user that don’t like MS but XP is better than Vista.

  • btw 10GB file is nuts, but these towers are made for video, that’s why the prices are so much…and welcome back to the mac

  • oh man, you’re one of them now! hehe.

  • I was thinking of going Mac a few months ago..but I just ended up building my own.

  • Yes it’s so true! No chivalry. I work along side a lot of japanese men and they are very nice people but seriously don’t know how to hold the door open for the ladies. I understand it’s the culture so I don’t lose sleep over it…but that is definitely one of the things I’ve noticed working with them.

  • So how was the Acer? I know it’s pretty inexpensive, but I was wondering how reliable they are…

  • @Onigiriman - 

    The Acer is reliable, but the hinge on the monitor broke. I’m not sure if it’s me, or just wear & tear.

  • @KENSHIR0 - 

    Wow, I’ve never had a hinge break, and my oldest Toshiba that my son uses to listen to mp3s is more than eight years old… Thanks for the info.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *