Month: April 2008

  • finally, a new desktop computer

     My Dell desktop died about 2 years ago, and ever since, I've been using an Acer laptop, which was pretty good, but I wanted to return to the Mac world.   So, I got one of these:

    It's really fast and quiet, even when I have multiple apps running.  I'm about to install Windows Vista on it (I realize XP is better, but I've heard good things about Vista on macs), and then run my HD video editing software on it, to edit all my vacation videos that have been sitting around and collecting dust. 

    My laptop, with 1.5 GB of RAM could handle some of the video editing, but not when I threw a 10GB file at it.  Let's see how this Mac Pro handles it.

    Oh, and I got a nice Samsung 22" monitor. 

  • D.C. Sakura Matsuri 2008

    The annual DC cherry blossom festival is Saturday, April 12th, and I was crazy enough to sign up to volunteer for the event.

    So I attended the orientation today even though it conflicted with my Japanese language class,and learned that I'll:

    • get a free volunteer t-shirt
    • all you can drink soda/water but no Ito-en green tea (which is freaking good, not sweet with 10000000 lbs of sugar or lemon like Lipton iced tea or southern style) or Ramune (the drink with the marble in the glass bottle)
    • snacks (I think)
    • a discount coupon for the official 2008 shirt (not the same as the free volunteer shirt I'll be receiving)

    Anyway, what will I be doing?  I chose to volunteer for the market, although in hindsight, I think JPOP land might be more fun.  I could be selling t-shirts, or I might have to wander around, selling drinks.  There's a few other tasks, but I won't find out until later.  I also get a free bandana to wear, to identify myself as a market volunteer.

    Although I'm busy as #$@^%$&, I chose to do this.
    Luckily, my last Japanese class until last semester was today, so now I only have 2-3 tae kwon do classes a week, piano class (can't forget practicing everyday) and 45 hrs/work, per week.  Manageable, I guess.